Happy Easter

Easter eggs Deutsch: Osterreier im gepflochten...

Easter eggs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was so excited to have Good Friday off yesterday.  The spirit of the season was at hand and I had the bright idea of going into town to buy plants, mulch and other springy things.  Lowes was jam-packed with lines in all directions. Obviously I wasn’t the only one thinking SPRING.  The feeling of rebirth and renewal was in the air.

The funny thing was, when I tried to pull my car around for a Lowes employee to put bags of mulch in my car, no one would let me in to get there. This was after I was practically run over by someone with one of those industrial sized carts with not so much as an “I’m sorry,” and had someone cut in front of me in the 20 minute line I was on.  Trying to go anywhere was a nightmare. Every store was packed. And best of all, as I drove around a tight curve, I inadvertently went over the yellow line a bit.  A man coming in my direction, and no I was not in jeopardy of hitting him, actually yelled out in a heavy Southern drawl, “you’re over the line, bitch!” Bitch? Are you kidding me?  That was a bit harsh, no?  I could not believe my ears and felt assaulted.  On the eve of one of the holiest holidays, on Good Friday itself, I was shocked to see how many people were NOT peaceful, were NOT charitable and were NOT showing any signs of brotherly love!  Are these the same people who will be sitting in church in their finest clothes on Sunday?

Usually around Christmas and other holidays there is a softening, an “oh go ahead of me we’re all in this together” sort of atmosphere. But not yesterday, no way!

It’s more striking to me here in the South when there is such a focus on Jesus and bible teachings.  Many churches here even act out the scenes and hundreds come to view a ‘living bible’. One would think then that the teachings of Jesus would be foremost in people’s minds here if anywhere right?  I’m not bashing people from the South or their religions, I know a lot of good people here and it doesn’t just happen in the South. And I know that many people do practice what they preach.  But it’s so funny to me that all the ideas of love, acceptance and forgiveness, those ideals we hold dearest in our hearts and nod to as we are reminded of them by a minster or priest, just go out the window by Monday morning or when we happen to have a lot of Spring shopping to do! Why don’t we look into each others eyes and hug each other Monday morning instead of mumbling “morning, I need coffee.”  Why don’t we take out our wallet when the person in front of us at a store has to put items back because he doesn’t have enough money to pay for them?  Why do people with money just buy more things instead of giving it to people who don’t have it to put food on the table or clothes on their backs?  And, why don’t we let impatient Italians into a stopped line of traffic when we can’t go anywhere anyway?  Why aren’t we living the ideals, that millions of Christians are celebrating this weekend, every single day?

And people wonder why I’m not religious! But…. I do believe in the truths and ideals that all religions believe in, specifically the ones mentioned above.  If we lived these daily we wouldn’t need drugs or material possessions.  If we lived these daily we wouldn’t have crimes and we wouldn’t hate. There wouldn’t be us and them.  I believe if we lived the principles of Love, Acceptance and Forgiveness, there would be peace on earth and I think someone tried to show us that.   Happy Easter!

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Stained glass at St John the Baptist’s Anglican Church (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

18 Comments

Filed under Musings

18 responses to “Happy Easter

  1. Absolutely true. All of it. Thank you…this time you made tears come up (at the end).

  2. Dave N

    AS the son of a Presbyterian Minister I am sad to say that I know only too well the hypocrisy that seems to go hand in hand with religious zeal.

    The terrorist always kills “in the name of God”.

    The Christian zealot goes to church 5 times a week, quotes scriptures to you at work, when faced with a problem will “pray on it”, but what does he carry around with him all the time?………no not a Bible but a gun. I’ll quote someone who considers himself a devout Christian and goes to Church more than just on a Sunday (and just happens to have a concealed weapons permit) “If I see a stranger on my property I’m not going to ask what he’s doing, I’m not going to call the cops, I’ll blow his head off. I’m not going to risk him harming my family.” What was it Jesus said again…….oh yes, apparently it wasn’t “turn the other cheek” it was “blow his *****ing head off”.

    At the risk of rambling I’ll say one more thing (and I know my dad would agree if he were alive today) Christianity has nothing whatsoever to do with how often you go to Church, or how much of the Bible you can memorise, Christianity is a way of life, it’s how you treat others no matter their religion, plenty of others throughout history have said the same, Jesus Christ, Allah, Muhammed, Budha, Krishna, Tao to name but a few.

    Sorry for hijacking your blog Dana,

    • No apology necessary…I agree it’s a way of life and of treating people. “What you do unto others you do unto me.” It’s that in a nutshell, nothing else matters. What you do unto others you also do to yourself and if people realized that I think it would have more of an effect. I really appreciate your thoughts.

    • Peacebeing

      Dave, How right you are! Thanks for saying it loud and clear. Many Christians today seem to forget about “love your neighbor” and judge not, lest you be judged”.

  3. Peacebeing

    WOW! You said it! I know exactly how you feel and I certainly agree that if we could all be a little kinder, compassionate, friendlier,loving and generous the world would be such a better place for us all. I’m truly sorry you had such an unpleasant experience, especially being called a bitch. The one thing I haven’t seen though is a difference between the way people in the south act as opposed to how they are in the north.. When I lived in the north I found that this type of behavior was more prevelent than I’ve seen in the south. That being said there is no excuse for it anywhere or for any reason, Maybe it gets noticed more in the south because the majority of people here are so connected to their churches and many do not seem to practice what they preach. Maybe we can all remember to “do unto others as we would have them do unto us”. In any case I hope you can have a wonderful Easter in spite of the rudness you experienced. And thanks for bringing this issue to light it’s a really good reminder for all of us.

  4. this is a very important post…thought provoking and challenging…thank you for sharing. Our faith should absolutely make a difference “between sundays”…in fact, I would hope that we live a stronger faith during the week precisely b/c “the entire world” is watching! Hope you’re enjoying life in the South in spite of some knuckleheads! :)

  5. purpleowltree1234

    I found this last Easter, people in public were much Much nastier than normal. I saw more road rage than I ever do normally, and people in supermarkets had frenzied faces with glazed eyes. Trolleys running into other people seemed to be perfeclty acceptable, even necessary. Am I getting old? Is this what people who are getting old feel like, that the world is losing its manners and basic respect for others? I’m feeling pretty old right now (I’m 38).
    Rach.

    • I think it’s more a matter of the means justifying the end. As long as I have a gorgeous garden and table display, and a delicious spread of food on Easter, then all the harried running around was worth it. When we really could have been civil and kind along the way and be more at peace by Sunday. Can’t believe you had the same experience. Maybe it was a full moon!

      • purpleowltree1234

        Just as well Easter wasn’t this last weekend with that Super Moon!!! omg that would have been deadly. Let’s start beaming out peace vibes an see if next Easter will be more peaceful. Ugh!

      • LOL@deadly….I’m staying in next year!

      • purpleowltree1234

        I’m thinking stayng in is a GOOD idea!! :)

      • Especially with careening or careering (which to me sounds like one is interviewing for a job) trollys!

      • purpleowltree1234

        You are SO RIGHT!! I used the wrong word!! Thank you!! :) hahahahha my brain cracks me up with laughter sometimes! Thank you for picking it. I’ll try to refile those words better for next time! lol!
        Rach

  6. I love the questions you raise about “Monday mornings”. I do attend church most weeks, and I have asked the very same questions. Do the principles we value on Sunday, at Easter, make a difference in the rest of my life, or the life of others? Great post.

    • It seems compartmentalized. I act this way with my family, that way with close friends, this way with church members…and the rest of the time I move through my days being polite and civil but it seems that the good stuff (love, compassion, forgiveness…) is saved for the first 1-3 categories. Loving strangers and people we run into during the day seems so foreign until you really think about it. So many religious people were up in arms about the song, What if God Was One of Us, but I really think it makes that point. Thank you for your thoughtful words and for reading this post, it’s great to talk about this topic!

      • purpleowltree1234

        When I used to go to church, they played that song What if God Was one of Us- during communion once. I was quite impressed! :)
        Rach.

Leave a Reply

